A Night to Honor the Community

Annual Mayor's Installation and Community Service Awards Draws Hundreds

Over 200 members of the community turned out on December 6, 2016 to honor fellow residents who have given of their time and talents to the Town of Danville, as well as to see a new Mayor take office. 

The annual Mayor's Installation and Community Services Awards is an event held each year in the Town of Danville where residents are recognized for their programs and volunteer work in the Town. The event was held for the third year at the Village Theatre & Art Gallery, where residents packed the auditorium. 

Mayor Karen Stepper presided over the event, which commenced with a posting of the colors by the Boy Scouts of Troop 893, including a bugle rendition of To the Color by Scout Robby McHale. 

Then, Danville resident Avery Chapman took the stage to provide a wonderful singing of the Star Spangled Banner

The Town Council then got down to the business of handing out the annual awards.  The following individuals were recognized:


Michael K. Shimansky Award:


Sarah Vawter - For being an energetic, enthusiastic and helpful community service volunteer, giving her time to both the San Ramon Regional Medical Center and the Animal Rescue Foundation (ARF).  Sarah also played a huge role in San Ramon Valley High School’s “Every 15 Minutes” program.

Parks and Leisure Services Commission Volunteer of the Year:


Chevron Corporation’s Week of Caring Program - For their volunteer work painting fences at Diablo Vista and Oak Hill Park. Chevron has volunteered in Danville as part of the Corporate Caring Volunteer Week for three years since 2014. Seven different employee groups from Chevron have spent 448 hours painting fences and 27 hours cleaning the Danville Community Center Art Room and Kitchen. 158 individuals have participated. 


Arts Commission Volunteer of the Year:

Florence McAuley - For her commitment to the Eugene O’Neill Foundation Tao House since the 1980s and her 40 years of leadership in the arts and education in Danville. In all the organizations she has served, she is known for her efficiency and determination to see a project through to a successful completion. As a member of Danville-Alamo AAUW, she created an Art in the Trunk program taking trunks full of arts supplies and lesson plans to schools in the San Ramon Valley School District; served as the first chair of the Danville Arts Council; served as president of the Museum of the San Ramon Valley; served as director on the Role Players Board for ten years; and, she continues to serve as a house manager for shows and hosts special receptions with her trademark elegance and grace.


Town of Danville Volunteer of the Year:

Nicholas Crisosto - For his volunteer commitment to the Town. Nicholas works locally and has volunteered 32 times for a total of 80.75 hours since March of 2015. He is cheerful, helpful, and has tackled everything from Senior Center events, Kid’s Night Out, craft prep, to taking the lead on food for the Town’s large youth events. He is a pleasure to work with, can do just about anything, and all staff know that if he is around we not only have extra hands but a smile too. Nick is in the military reserves so is not available for weekend events, but he is always here when he can be.


Outgoing Commissioners Honored:


  • Arts Commission:                  Megan Spencer    
  • Heritage Resource Commission:          Rick Hansen,  David Stephenson
  • Parks and Leisure Services Commission:            Lisa Blackwell,  Jared Wong
  • Design Review Board:             Julie Graves 


Service Awards:

     Four Years:

     Julie Graves
     David Stephenson
     Archie Bowles
     Andrew Verriere 

     Eight Years:

     Paul Radich 

     Twelve Years:

     Lee Halverson
     Renee Morgan

     Sixteen Years:

     Celeste Evans
     Robert Storer

     Twenty Years of Service:

     Kevin Donovan

Awards of Merit:


  • Jaden Andres - For her leadership and participation as a volunteer in the Town’s Counselor in Training Summer Day Camp Program and her extensive volunteer commitment to local charity organizations.

  • Matt Roderick and Vince Richards, Danville School Resource Officers - For their tireless efforts to build rapport with the students in Danville and their commitment to creating positive relationships between the schools, community and the police department.

  • Eagle Scout leadership - For their longstanding commitment to serving the community and organizing Eagle Scout service projects that benefit the Town of Danville.

  • Dean Langston and Ashley Provost, Coats and Cocktails - For creating an annual event and organizing volunteers to collect thousands of coats that are distributed to the needy. 


The Danville Award      

  • Jerry Yahiro - For his dedication and extensive service to the veterans’ community.


Following the awards, Council Members Renee Morgan and Newell Arnerich, along with new Council Member Lisa Blackwell were sworn in for their new terms in office  by Contra Costa County Superior Court Judge Nancy D. Stark.  

The Town Council held a brief meeting to elect a new Mayor and Vice Mayor for 2017. By unanimous vote,  Renee Morgan will be the Mayor of Danville for 2017 and Newell Arnerich will be the Vice Mayor.